Pollyanna

In March 2011, I celebrated International Women’s Day (IWD) by posting each day on Facebook about a remarkable woman. Here you’ll find those posts (slightly edited and with one addition). During the month of IWD, it seems appropriate to acknowledge all of the wonderful women who have been, and are, struggling for a better world. I especially wish to recognise the women who’ve taught me, those with whom I’ve organised, campaigned, marched and demonstrated, those who cannot be named, and those who are unknown to me. I called the blog Pollyanna because I’m often criticised for being ‘Pollyannaish’ – too optimistic. Pollyanna is the heroine of a novel, Pollyanna, written by Elanor Porter in 1913. Her book has also been made into a number of movies. Pollyanna’s philosophy of life centres on what she calls ‘the glad game’. The game consists of finding something to be glad about in every situation. In some parts of the world  ‘pollyanna’ also means a gift exchange. When I originally created these posts, I received a couple of criticisms regarding the women I’d chosen. So, I wish to make it clear that, whatever my own differences with these amazing women, this blog is written in the spirit of Pollyanna.

Nick Southall

Leave a comment